International board

International board

The role of the International Board of Trustees is to supervise the formulation of VSO policy and strategy and to monitor organisational performance. 

The International Board consists of 12 trustees, each of whom is appointed for a period of up to three years.

The International Board typically meets three times a year. For further information on the roles and responsibilities of the International Board of Trustees, of any of the IB sub-committees, or to contact any of our trustees with respect to their involvement with VSO, please contact the VSO company secretary.

The current members of the International Board of Trustees are:

  • Mari Simonen – Chair of the Board of Trustees
    Deputy Executive Director, UN Population Fund (UNFPA)
  • Sam Younger – Vice Chair
    Chair of CILEx Regulation and serves on the Council of the Advertising Standards Authority
  • John Bason – Honorary Treasurer
    Finance Director, Associated British Foods plc (UK)
  • Baroness Hilary Armstrong
  • Chris Merry
    CEO, Ipes
  • Hardeep Jhutty
    Pricing Development Manager, Monitor
  • Dr Noerine Kaleeba
    Patron and founder, TASO Uganda and Vice Chair, Uganda National Health Research Organisation
  • Stephen Pidgeon
    Fundraising consultant (UK)
  • Anjali Sen
    Regional Director for South Asia, International Planned Parenthood Federation (India)
  • Amanda Rowlatt CBE
    Chief Analyst at the Department for Transport